CHICAGO, IL – The auto accident attorneys in Chicago, Illinois at the Dinizulu Law Group understand there can be a lot of confusion occurring after a traffic collision. The adrenaline of an accident can create significant trouble when securing evidence that can help build a successful personal injury claim.
One of the most important steps after a car accident in Illinois is to call the police to file an official accident report. Before the police arrive at the scene of the crash, there are a few steps you should take to ensure you’re gathering everything you may need for potential recovery in a lawsuit.
Steps to take after an Illinois car crash
The first thing to do after being involved in a car accident is to check yourself for injuries. You may be in a state of shock and not notice right away, so make sure to move to a safe location near the crash site and wait for police to arrive.
Do not admit any fault or speculate as to what happened. If you don’t remember, simply state that and stick to the facts you know. Share your drivers license, registration and insurance information with the other drivers involved in the accident. At the same time, you should make sure they provide you with the same information.
If there are any witnesses, collect any relevant information from them. If they are able to wait for police to arrive, witnesses should wait so police can follow up with them.
Information included in an Illinois car crash report
Each driver involved in an Illinois traffic crash must file a crash report if the crash caused a death, bodily injury or more than $1,500 of property damage when all drivers are insured. An Illinois car accident police report contains important information regarding the crash, including:
- Place and time of accident
- The name, address and date of birth of all motorists involved in the accident
- The driver license information (State of license, license number) of all motorists involved in the accident
- The driver’s license plate number and state of all motorists involved in the accident
- The name and address of all policy holders and the name of their insurance
- The name and address of all registered automobile owners of automobiles involved in the accident
- An explanation of what happened during the automobile accident
Most importantly, the document will include the police’s own observations and opinions regarding the accident, including who was at fault for the crash. If the police don’t respond, record this information on your own and keep it top of mind.
To file a car crash report with the Illinois DOT, which must be done 10 days after the accident, you, your insurance agent, the owner of the vehicle or your legal representative must complete the Motorist Crash Report (which can also be done online) and submit it to the DOT.
How to obtain an Illinois car accident police report
You can request a crash report from the Illinois State Police online or by mail. Be prepared to provide the following details of the accident:
- A driver’s first and last name
- The date of the crash
- The location of the crash, including Interstate and County
- The Agency Crash Report Number (located in the upper-middle portion of the motorist report)
Once the relevant information is provided, you can choose to have the accident report emailed or mailed to you. There is a $5 crash report fee, and all applicable processing fees must be paid before completing the crash.
Contact an auto accident attorney in Chicago, Illinois
If you have been injured in a traffic crash in Illinois, our experienced Cook County attorneys at the Dinizulu Law Group may request a copy of the crash report on your behalf so you are able to focus on healing your physical recovery.
Contact us today at (312) 384-1920 and get the help you need to make informed decisions about the direction of your case.