CHICAGO, IL – If you’ve been involved in a car crash in Illinois, it’s critical to understand the rules around reporting the accident so you can comply with the law and ensure you have all the necessary documentation for any future accident claims. A police report can also serve as a valuable resource for an Illinois personal injury attorney.
Should I File a Police Report for a Minor Car Accident in Illinois?
Drivers must report any accident resulting in injury, death or property damage exceeding $1,500 (or $500 if the driver is uninsured). Even if an accident does not meet this criteria, you should still file a police report.
Minor accidents like fender benders may not always meet the legal reporting threshold; however, filing reports for minor accidents can generate useful records in case of future disputes or complications. A police report can document the details of the accident, establish the timeline and note any potential contributing factors, including the weather or road conditions. Insurance companies often require the presence of an official report when processing a claim. The car accident attorneys at the Dinizulu Law Group are here to help you and can use this information to help pursue compensation.
How Long Do You Have to Report a Car Accident in Illinois?
You must notify the police immediately if you are involved in a car crash resulting in death, injury or property damage resulting in $1,500. Illinois state law previously required motorists to file a report with the Illinois Department of Transportation within 10 days of the accident; however, the recent legislature removed this requirement in August 2021. A car accident attorney might recommend that you alert the police of the incident to protect your rights to compensation if the other driver was to blame.
How to Report Car Accidents
If you are involved in a car crash that results in injury, death or property damage, you must remain at the scene and alert the police immediately by calling 911.
You can also report certain types of car accidents to the Illinois State Police online, including single-vehicle crashes, crashes that result in property damage only with no injuries or accidents on the interstate highways or Illinois State Roadways under their jurisdiction.
Where to Obtain a Chicago Police Report
You can obtain a Chicago car accident report online. For each report, you must pay a $6 fee, which includes a $5 service charge and $1 convenience fee. You can also visit the Chicago Police Department Records Customer Service Section in person which is located at 3510 S. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60653.
What to Include in Your Police Report Request
If you have the report number for the crash, this is the quickest way you can locate the specific report. Simply search for the report number along with the crash date. Otherwise, you’ll need to search by the crash date plus the first and last name of any person involved in the car crash.
Speak to an Attorney About Your Next Steps
If you were injured in a car accident in Illinois due to another person’s negligence, get in touch with the attorneys at the Dinizulu Law Group. Contact our office today for your free case review with an experienced car accident lawyer at (312) 384-1920.